Governors Information

A message from Anna McCormack, Chair of Governors                                                              January 2021          

Dear parents and guardians,
My name is Anna McCormack and I have recently become Chair of Governors at St George following the untimely death of my predecessor, Charles Marchetti. Many of you will remember Charles for his active participation in all our major school celebrations, events, and activities. He also worked tirelessly behind the scenes to steer the school on its successful journey of development over the past several years.

I am sorry to be taking over in these sad circumstances, but I hope to be able to live up to Charles’ high expectations of all governors, and to continue his strong legacy of support for the pupils and staff at St George. The other governors and I are committed to maintain and build upon all the hard work that Charles carried out for the school; particularly in supporting Mr Habberley and his leadership team to continue their impressive and ongoing journey of continuous improvement.
2020 was a difficult year for everyone, but we are grateful to Mr Habberley and all the staff for their incredibly hard work in adapting to new ways of working and new regulations, to ensure that all pupils continue to remain safe and receive the excellent support and education for which the school has become recognised by the Local Authority, the Diocese, pupils, parents, and inspectors alike.
Mr Habberley and his team have worked hard, once again, over the holidays to get the school ready for reopening with all COVID-19 precautions in place, including the latest testing regime. There are no doubt still many virus-related challenges ahead, but we have much to celebrate and look forward to as a school community in the coming year.
Admissions for September 2021 are once again heavily over-subscribed with over 600 preferences for 180 places, which is an ongoing testament to our success and the overwhelming demand for places. In addition, we are seeing an increasing percentage of girls coming into the school, with 49% girls in the current Year 7, giving pupils a truly co-educational experience.
We look forward to making full use of our long-awaited new £5m Science and Technology block with its high-tech equipment and state-of-the-art facilities, which opens for lessons in January and will be opened, officially, by the Bishop later in the year. The school also has ambitious plans for more improvements in future - we are hoping to build a brand-new library/resource centre, enlarge the chapel, improve the kitchen and dining areas, and create a more welcoming reception area. We will share more details of these plans when we have them.
Our Catholic ethos and unique Aspire values underpin the St George family spirit and play a huge part in the day-to-day welfare of the students through safeguarding, pastoral support, and every other area of student wellbeing.

With the start of this new year, I hope we can continue to help each other within our St George family community and indeed Aspire to become all that God has created us to be.
I look forward to hearing from parents, guardians, staff and students with any comments, questions, or concerns.
With best wishes.
Yours Sincerely,

Anna McCormack Chair of Governors (from December 2020)
Roger Peplow Vice-Chair and Chair to the Curriculum Committee
Nick Guyer Vice-Chair and Chair to the Finance & Resources Committee
Jeanine Bonavia Clerk to the Governing Body

Foundation Governors

Other Governors

Rachel Brady                                         

Lyn Bourne (Executive Headteacher)
Nick Guyer Sarah Davis (Parent)
Monsignor Vincent Harvey James Habberley (Headteacher)
Anna McCormack Minnie Moore (Parent)
Andrew Preston Roger Peplow (LA)
Bethany Hendrikse Euan Douglas (Staff)
Stephen Fenn Paul Davies (Associate Member)