Coronavirus Update

An update by the Headteacher on the current situation.

30th March 2020

Dear Parent/Guardian,

I hope that you are all keeping fit and well and looking after each other. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Schools have now been formally closed for over a week and this Friday 3rd April we would normally be breaking up for our Easter Holidays. Therefore, I thought it would be prudent to write to you all to keep you updated with the latest information we have:

What is the plan after the Easter holidays? : Registration Window

Currently it looks highly likely that the school is going to be closed for another two weeks after the Easter Holidays. Therefore, the staff are preparing an additional two weeks’ worth of work to be uploaded onto our website from Monday 20th April to Friday 1st May 2020. The school will continue to be open from Monday 20th April however only for children of key workers and vulnerable pupils. In earlier correspondence I explained that we would open up our registration window again now that families of key workers have had time to consider their plans. Therefore, if you are already registered to attend school you don’t need to do anything, however if you want your son/daughter to attend school from Monday 20th April 2020 please can you complete the online form by clicking on the following link by 9:00am Thursday 2nd April 2020:

School Attendance Form (link)

Pupils’ work & contact with their teachers – Year 9 & 10

We want to ensure that our students are getting all the help they need with their work and that it is being completed. Therefore, from Monday 20th April 2020 if you are in years 9 and 10 we would expect you to log on according to your normal school timetable and your teacher of that subject will be available if you have any questions or to support you with the work. Guidance on how to log on is shown below but it is essential you can log onto your office 365 account which all students have.  For example, if I am teaching Year 10 English P1 on a Monday, I am available from 9-10am on my laptop logged into MS Teams to that class.  As students, you just need to follow your normal two-week timetable. You will just need to select your class at the right period according to your timetable. There will be no video calls or formal teaching online, but we are there and available to communicate with you about the work to make sure the students are working and getting the support they need. Please note CORE PE lessons are excluded from this offer.

Instructions for accessing teams

To access Teams you will need to log in to Office 365 at office.com using your email account and password. This is the site you access your email.

Once logged in you are greeted with your home page and a row of icons including Outlook and other software.

In this list, you will need to select teams. Once the page loads, you will see a list of teams you are a member of. Your classes will appear here. Select the relevant class to access the team resources.

You can also download an app for your computer by visiting this address.

Apps are also available for tablets and phones from either the iOS App Store or the Google Play Store.

All apps require you to sign in with your email and password.

If support is required for parents and students they should email ict@stgcc.co.uk

Tutor phone call: Monday 20th April

We feel it has been a while since we have had contact with all our students. Therefore, at some point during the first week back after the Easter Holidays, starting Monday 20th April your tutor will phone you just to check how you are, make sure you have everything you need to do the work and to make sure you are having no issues logging on if you need to speak to your teacher.

Work for pupils at home: Log on to contact teachers

Thank you to students who have been emailing their work to teachers and keeping in touch. Thank you to the small number of pupils who have also emailed me to ask when school is reopening and that they are missing it.

www.stgcc.co.uk 

1.              Click on Student Area

2.              Click on your year group – for example Year 7 Homework & Study on the right-hand side.

3.              Select the subject

4.              Click on the work

If you are unable to get internet access at home and do not have a computer, please let your progress leader know by phoning us on 02380 322603 and we will post work out to you.

Year 7 Parents Evening – new date

Our apologies but due to the current situation, Year 7 parents’ evening that was due to take place on Wednesday 22nd April 2020 has now been rearranged to Tuesday 22nd June 2020 5-7pm. We are slightly hedging our bets that we will be back by then but we felt it was important to set a date as early as possible.

Update on Year 11 results

The latest release from the DfE is available on the link below. They expect to publish detailed information about the process and timetable which will apply this summer this week. This will include the steps for teachers to follow and more detailed guidance on how to consider the full range of evidence when submitting their assessment grades. They will outline by Easter the process they will follow to make sure grades are fair across schools and colleges, as well as our proposals for appeals.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/further-update-on-2020-exams

Work staff email addresses

To help with Home learning, please see below a list of the staff email addresses. If you son/daughter is struggling with the work, please use the list below to contact the relevant person. Please be aware it may take some time to get a reply if staff are unavailable or ill themselves.

Name

Work email

Mrs M Aldworth

maldworth@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Barron

hbarron@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Bedford

abedford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs J Bonavia

jbonavia@stgcc.co.uk

Miss L Bourne

lbourne@stgcc.co.uk

Miss E Bowers

ebowers@stgcc.co.uk

Miss B Catley

bcatley@stgcc.co.uk

Miss K Cecil

kcecil@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs T Chappell

tchappell@stgcc.co.uk

Miss N Choudhury

nchoudhury@stgcc.co.uk

Mr K Clark

kclark@stgcc.co.uk

Ms R Clarke

rclarke@stgcc.co.uk

Mr O Copplestone

ocopplestone@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs C Corcoran

ccorcoran@stgcc.co.uk

Miss M Cordeiro

mcordeiro@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Corrigan

mcorrigan@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs R Cox

rcox@stgcc.co.uk

Mr R Crouch

rcrouch@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Devine

jdevine@stgcc.co.uk

Mr E Douglas

edouglas@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Drummond

sdrummond@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Dwyer

mdwyer@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Ellerby

mellerby@stgcc.co.uk

Miss B Evans

bevans@stgcc.co.uk

Miss A Foord

afoord@stgcc.co.uk

Mr H French

hfrench@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs L Furby

lfurby@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs M Gaskin

mgaskin@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs L Gilbank

lgilbank@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Gillard

mgillard@stgcc.co.uk

Ms L Griffiths

lgriffiths@stgcc.co.uk

Mr N Gulliver

ngulliver@stgcc.co.uk

Mr S Guyer

sguyer@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Habberley

head@stgcc.co.uk

Miss R Heneghan

rheneghan@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Hill

ahill@stgcc.co.uk

Miss S Hussain

shussain@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Jay

hjay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Kerslake

mkerslake@stgcc.co.uk

Miss A Lampard

alampard@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Leat

cleat@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Lee-Cann

alee-cann@stgcc.co.uk

Miss S Lefeuvre

slefeuvre@stgcc.co.uk

Mr T Liston

tliston@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Martin

awilson@stgcc.co.uk

Miss D May

dmay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J May

jmay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Ndabala

andabala@stgcc.co.uk

Miss L Ouvry

louvry@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Pegg

apegg@stgcc.co.uk

Ms B Phythian

bphythian@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Preston

jpreston@stgcc.co.uk

Mr G Prout

gprout@stgcc.co.uk

Miss G Provenzano

gprovenzano@stgcc.co.uk

Mr R Rajendram

rrajendram@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Raymont

hraymont@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Reynolds

jreynolds@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Rogers

crogers@stgcc.co.uk

Ms C Self

cself@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Shelley

cshelley@stgcc.co.uk

Miss C Simpson

csimpson@stgcc.co.uk

Ms H Sira

hsira@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs B Sopicka

bsopicka@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Southwell

ssouthwell@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Sumner

ssumner@stgcc.co.uk

Mr D Walford

dwalford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs M Walford

mwalford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Ward

sward@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Webb

awebb@stgcc.co.uk

Mr T Winter

twinter@stgcc.co.uk

 

Easter holiday provision – Key worker and vulnerable pupils

Over the Easter holidays, Southampton City Council and key partners are offering to provide free Easter activities for the children of critical workers as part of the Government’s response to Covid 19. These schemes will be free to the families of critical workers but must be booked. Therefore, we have sent letters today by 2nd class post to each parent who on our list is a key worker. My apologies if I have missed you, but if you do not get a letter in the next 48 hours please let me know and I will get one to you.  Attached to the letter is a list of activities on offer. They are largely just up to 14 years of age. Please be aware there are limited places. You must ensure you have completed the online booking form at www.testlands.com before the start of the Easter break, to enable the relevant provisions to plan ahead.

Safeguarding - Pupils

staysafe@stgcc.co.uk

This email address is available only for pupils if you are feeling concerned for your safety, wellbeing or anxiety which is affecting your ability to function as you normally would. This will be looked at daily. For parents, the email address will be emailed to all students via their school email accounts.

Finally, please stay safe, follow the guidance by the Government, and look after each other. We will continue to keep in touch.

Yours faithfully,

Mr J Habberley

Head Teacher