Covid19 /St George

This page groups together important information that is available elsewhere on this website. For the latest news and information please always refer to the News section at the front of this website.

Information from the headteacher is shown below.  The most recent, and all previous letters from
the headteacher are shown at the end of this page.

Structure of the college day

Need Support

Year 11 Update 

The Post 16 partnership has worked together to develop resources for Year 11 students affected by the impact of the Coronavirus. The result is ‘Flying Start Southampton’, an impartial website built for young people in the city to support their transition to post-16 education and training.

The partnership has brought together Southampton City Council, Bitterne Park Sixth Form College, City College Southampton, Itchen College, St Anne’s Sixth Form, Richard Taunton Sixth Form College and the Southern Universities Network (SUN), with the aim of providing impartial support, information and advice on further education, apprenticeships and future employment options. SUN is hosting the site on the following link:

https://www.sunoutreach.org/resource-category/flying-start-southampton/

The site includes:

•          Careers - Planning for the future utilizing the Windmills iCan programme

•          Developing study skills – for all students - resources provided by college partners

•          Post-16 subject specific – to explore chosen subjects and beyond – links to partner sites.

•          FAQs for young people & parents and carers

•          Health and wellbeing resources

Free School Meal Vouchers

Children entitled to free school meals during the current lockdown either have a fortnightly food box delivered to home, are emailed a fortnightly food voucher which can be redeemed at a choice of supermarkets, or receive a meal from the school canteen if they are attending emergency school. Please contact Marian Meider at mmeider@stgcc.co.uk if you have any questions regarding these schemes.”

Mental Health & Wellbeing

The coronavirus crisis is having a huge impact on young people. The loss of routine, and exam cancellations are all factors that are causing stress and increased anxiety, as well as additional health concerns. For teenagers this can be a really challenging time and we are here to support you all.

Please click on any of the links below for expert advice and guidance to get you through this challenging time. In addition may we please remind you that we also have staysafe@stgcc.co.uk, an email address available for pupils if you’re feeling concerned for your safety, wellbeing or anxiety which is affecting your ability to function as you normally would. This will be looked at daily. For parents the email address will be emailed to all students via their school email accounts.

https://www.stgcc.co.uk/page/?title=Student+Help+and+Advice&pid=233

https://www.annafreud.org/on-my-mind/self-care/

https://youngminds.org.uk/blog/looking-after-your-mental-health-while-self-isolating/

Supporting your child during the corona virus pandemic: https://youngminds.org.uk/find-help/for-parents/supporting-your-child-during-the-coronavirus-pandemic/

Guide to building resilience while at home during the pandemic: Resilience_At_Home_Guide.pdf

A list of resources for schools and families to help you take care of yourselves and the children and young people in your lives at this challenging time
SEPS Covid-19 Advice.pdf

Southampton Mental Health Support Team
Secondary Schools/Colleges Wellbeing Newsletter April 15th

Safeguarding - Pupils

staysafe@stgcc.co.uk

This email address is available only for pupils if you are feeling concerned for your safety, wellbeing or anxiety which is affecting your ability to function as you normally would. This will be looked at daily. For parents, the email address will be emailed to all students via their school email accounts.

Finally, please stay safe, follow the guidance by the Government, and look after each other. We will continue to keep in touch.

Careers and Virtual Work Experience 

EBP South (our careers partner in particular for work experience) have updated their information and online careers resources:

Go to https://www.ebpsouth.co.uk/other-covid-19-careers-resources 

For information relevant to virtual work experience go to page 2 (this can be found by clicking on the resources part of page 1 at the bottom, then visit the section on Work Experience and alternatives. 

The BBC Teach App button also has some great video clips and although they refer to apprenticeships there are some really good occupational areas too. If preferred you can go onto the EBP You Tube Channel and click on the Playlist Tab, where there are a number of really good short videos to watch. Other employers locally are producing resources to be added at a later date.

Remote Education

Remote education provision: information for parents
This information is intended to provide clarity and transparency to pupils and parents or carers about what to expect from remote education where national or local restrictions require entire cohorts (or bubbles) to remain at home.
For details of what to expect where individual pupils are self-isolating, please see the final section of this page.

The remote curriculum: what is taught to pupils at home
A pupil’s first day or two of being educated remotely might look different from our standard approach, while we take all necessary actions to prepare for a longer period of remote teaching.

What should my child expect from immediate remote education in the first day or two of pupils being sent home?
Pupils should expect to connect to their lessons live through MS Teams. Pupils should follow their own timetables. PE lessons will not be delivered live unless there is a national lockdown.

Following the first few days of remote education, will my child be taught broadly the same curriculum as they would if they were in school?
We teach the same curriculum remotely as we do in school wherever possible and appropriate. However, we have needed to make some adaptations in some subjects as certain topics are more suited to being delivered remotely than others.


Remote teaching and study time each day

How long can I expect work set by the school to take my child each day?
We expect that remote education (including remote teaching and independent work) will take pupils broadly the following number of hours each day:

Key Stage 3 and 4 

All pupils should attend every lesson online. Each lesson lasts 45 mins with a 15 break away from the screen at the end of each lesson. Each day there are 5 1 hour periods.

All pupils will receive 3.75 hours online teaching a day.

Accessing remote education

How will my child access any online remote education you are providing?
Through their MS Teams account. Please email ICT@stgcc.co.uk if your need any help.

If my child does not have digital or online access at home, how will you support them to access remote education?

We recognise that some pupils may not have suitable online access at home. We take the following approaches to support those pupils to access remote education:

If you do not have digital or online access at home please can you call the school on 02380 322603 and leave a message for Mr Bedford Assistant Head Teacher to report you have no method to access online lessons. The school will then contact you to arrange access to your online lessons either by lending you a laptop and a device to access the internet if required or ensuring you attend emergency school in your year group bubble on site.

If you need to access printed materials for your work please message your teacher on MS teams or call reception and leave a message and we will post the materials to you.

Pupils should submit work through MS Teams. If they do not have online access please let us know and you can either post it to us, drop it to reception or we may be able to arrange collection.

How will my child be taught remotely?
We use a combination of the following approaches to teach pupils remotely:

Our approach is that all lessons are

·      Audio live teaching (online lessons)

     with on occasions due to staffing absence or tutor phone calls, work posted for students to complete at home.

·      printed paper packs produced by teachers (e.g. workbooks, worksheets)

·      commercially available websites supporting the teaching of specific subjects or areas, including video clips or sequences.

Engagement and feedback

What are your expectations for my child’s engagement and the support that we as parents and carers should provide at home?

In this section, please set out briefly:

·      Please see attached our remote learning policy.

·       We expect all pupils to be attending all their lessons remotely and their weekly year group assembly.

·       We expect parents to have read our remote learning policy.

·       Staff can expect parents/carers with children learning remotely to:

·       Make the school aware if their child is sick or otherwise can’t complete work.

·       Seek help from the school if they need it – if you know of any resources staff should point parents towards if they are struggling.

·       Make sure their child contact teachers within working hours.

·       Be respectful when making any complaints or concerns known to staff.

·       Live lessons must not be recorded.

How will you check whether my child is engaging with their work and how will I be informed if there are concerns?

·       Through their attendance on MS Teams to their live lessons.

·       Through the quality of work produced and submitted to the teacher.

·       Through their engagement in lessons on MS Teams.

·       Teachers will contact parents if they have concerns. If there is no improvement the head of department and then the progress leader will contact the parent.

How will you assess my child’s work and progress?

Feedback can take many forms and may not always mean extensive written comments for individual children. For example, whole-class feedback or quizzes marked automatically via digital platforms are also valid and effective methods, amongst many others. Our approach to feeding back on pupil work is as follows:

Additional support for pupils with particular needs

How will you work with me to help my child who needs additional support from adults at home to access remote education?

We recognise that some pupils, for example some pupils with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND), may not be able to access remote education without support from adults at home. We acknowledge the difficulties this may place on families, and we will work with parents and carers to support those pupils in the following ways:

When required we will provide support using our teaching assistants and MS Teams to provide online support through MS Teams. We will do our best to support the family within the reasonable limits we have currently. Weekly phonecalls from pastoral team to monitor work / progress and mental health.

Remote education for self-isolating pupils

Where individual pupils need to self-isolate but the majority of their peer group remains in school, how remote education is provided will likely differ from the approach for whole groups. This is due to the challenges of teaching pupils both at home and in school.

If my child is not in school because they are self-isolating, how will their remote education differ from the approaches described above?

Students will be able to access their lessons live on MS Teams providing they are well enough to attend.
Progress Leaders will ring home to provide further guidance and emotional support.

Download this (Remote Education) page

Staff email addresses (work)

To help with Home learning, please see below a list of the staff email addresses. If you son/daughter is struggling with the work, please use the list below to contact the relevant person. Please be aware it may take some time to get a reply if staff are unavailable or ill themselves.

Name

Work email

Mrs M Aldworth

maldworth@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Barron

hbarron@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Bedford

abedford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs J Bonavia

jbonavia@stgcc.co.uk

Miss L Bourne

lbourne@stgcc.co.uk

Miss E Bowers

ebowers@stgcc.co.uk

Miss B Catley

bcatley@stgcc.co.uk

Miss K Cecil

kcecil@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs T Chappell

tchappell@stgcc.co.uk

Miss N Choudhury

nchoudhury@stgcc.co.uk

Mr K Clark

kclark@stgcc.co.uk

Ms R Clarke

rclarke@stgcc.co.uk

Mr O Copplestone

ocopplestone@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs C Corcoran

ccorcoran@stgcc.co.uk

Miss M Cordeiro

mcordeiro@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Corrigan

mcorrigan@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs R Cox

rcox@stgcc.co.uk

Mr R Crouch

rcrouch@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Devine

jdevine@stgcc.co.uk

Mr E Douglas

edouglas@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Drummond

sdrummond@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Dwyer

mdwyer@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Ellerby

mellerby@stgcc.co.uk

Miss B Evans

bevans@stgcc.co.uk

Miss A Foord

afoord@stgcc.co.uk

Mr H French

hfrench@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs L Furby

lfurby@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs M Gaskin

mgaskin@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs L Gilbank

lgilbank@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Gillard

mgillard@stgcc.co.uk

Ms L Griffiths

lgriffiths@stgcc.co.uk

Mr N Gulliver

ngulliver@stgcc.co.uk

Mr S Guyer

sguyer@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Habberley

head@stgcc.co.uk

Miss R Heneghan

rheneghan@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Hill

ahill@stgcc.co.uk

Miss S Hussain

shussain@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Jay

hjay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Kerslake

mkerslake@stgcc.co.uk

Miss A Lampard

alampard@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Leat

cleat@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Lee-Cann

alee-cann@stgcc.co.uk

Miss S Lefeuvre

slefeuvre@stgcc.co.uk

Mr T Liston

tliston@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Martin

awilson@stgcc.co.uk

Miss D May

dmay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J May

jmay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Ndabala

andabala@stgcc.co.uk

Miss L Ouvry

louvry@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Pegg

apegg@stgcc.co.uk

Ms B Phythian

bphythian@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Preston

jpreston@stgcc.co.uk

Mr G Prout

gprout@stgcc.co.uk

Miss G Provenzano

gprovenzano@stgcc.co.uk

Mr R Rajendram

rrajendram@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Raymont

hraymont@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Reynolds

jreynolds@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Rogers

crogers@stgcc.co.uk

Ms C Self

cself@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Shelley

cshelley@stgcc.co.uk

Miss C Simpson

csimpson@stgcc.co.uk

Ms H Sira

hsira@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs B Sopicka

bsopicka@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Southwell

ssouthwell@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Sumner

ssumner@stgcc.co.uk

Mr D Walford

dwalford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs M Walford

mwalford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Ward

sward@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Webb

awebb@stgcc.co.uk

Mr T Winter

twinter@stgcc.co.uk

 

 Southampton City Council Covid update