Covid19 /St George

This page groups together important information that is available elsewhere on this website. For the latest news and information please always refer to the News section at the front of this website.

Information from the headteacher is shown below.  The most recent, and all previous letters from
the headteacher are shown at the end of this page.

The section below covers our re-opening in September

Structure of the college day

Need Support

Year 11 Update 

The Post 16 partnership has worked together to develop resources for Year 11 students affected by the impact of the Coronavirus. The result is ‘Flying Start Southampton’, an impartial website built for young people in the city to support their transition to post-16 education and training.

The partnership has brought together Southampton City Council, Bitterne Park Sixth Form College, City College Southampton, Itchen College, St Anne’s Sixth Form, Richard Taunton Sixth Form College and the Southern Universities Network (SUN), with the aim of providing impartial support, information and advice on further education, apprenticeships and future employment options. SUN is hosting the site on the following link:

https://www.sunoutreach.org/resource-category/flying-start-southampton/

The site includes:

•          Careers - Planning for the future utilizing the Windmills iCan programme

•          Developing study skills – for all students - resources provided by college partners

•          Post-16 subject specific – to explore chosen subjects and beyond – links to partner sites.

•          FAQs for young people & parents and carers

•          Health and wellbeing resources

Free School Meal Vouchers

We share the frustration and the lack of support from Edenred with the voucher scheme. It’s great that the majority of our families have received their ecodes on time, however unfortunately not all our families have received theres or it's been delayed. We are told that the issues have been due to the system not being able to cope with the demand. I am told this is being addressed but the guidance is still staying it will take up to 72 hours from when they are ordered on a Tuesday each week to receive them. Contact details for Edenred are below. The school will still be providing food on site each day. Please contact Ms Marion Meider at mmeider@stgcc.co.uk if you have any questions for the school.

Edenred

Year 11 Grades (Vocational & GCSE’s) & Confirmation Results Day 

Year 11 students will be able to collect their GCSE Results on Thursday 20th August 2020 from 8.00am to 11.00am. 

Each tutor group will have a specific time to come in and receive their results:

Bakhita: 8.00 - 8.25
Dreexel: 8.30 - 8.55
John-Paul: 9.00 -9.25
Kolbe: 9.30 - 9.55
Romero: 10.00 - 10.25
Teresa; 10.30 - 11.00

If you are unable to collect your son/daughters results on that day they will be sent 1st class by 2pm. If you have any questions about this please contact Mr Guyer on sguyer@stgcc.co.uk

This is the same day as previously planned and all Year 11 students will receive their results in the same way using the standard format that all previous students have received. In my last letter I attached a letter from ofqual for parents and students about how your son/daughters’ results will be calculated. This is still available on our website at the following link if you don’t have a copy:

https://www.stgcc.co.uk/news/?pid=3&nid=1&storyid=78

Year 11 we are all still thinking of you and hope you are all coping well in this unfamiliar situation. Please remember you are very much part of our family and we are busy planning a formal leavers assembly and arranging details for the prom

Mental Health & Wellbeing

The coronavirus crisis is having a huge impact on young people. The loss of routine, and exam cancellations are all factors that are causing stress and increased anxiety, as well as additional health concerns. For teenagers this can be a really challenging time and we are here to support you all.

Please click on any of the links below for expert advice and guidance to get you through this challenging time. In addition may we please remind you that we also have staysafe@stgcc.co.uk, an email address available for pupils if you’re feeling concerned for your safety, wellbeing or anxiety which is affecting your ability to function as you normally would. This will be looked at daily. For parents the email address will be emailed to all students via their school email accounts.

https://www.stgcc.co.uk/page/?title=Student+Help+and+Advice&pid=233

https://www.annafreud.org/on-my-mind/self-care/

https://youngminds.org.uk/blog/looking-after-your-mental-health-while-self-isolating/

Supporting your child during the corona virus pandemic: https://youngminds.org.uk/find-help/for-parents/supporting-your-child-during-the-coronavirus-pandemic/

Guide to building resilience while at home during the pandemic: Resilience_At_Home_Guide.pdf

A list of resources for schools and families to help you take care of yourselves and the children and young people in your lives at this challenging time
SEPS Covid-19 Advice.pdf

Southampton Mental Health Support Team
Secondary Schools/Colleges Wellbeing Newsletter April 15th

Safeguarding - Pupils

staysafe@stgcc.co.uk

This email address is available only for pupils if you are feeling concerned for your safety, wellbeing or anxiety which is affecting your ability to function as you normally would. This will be looked at daily. For parents, the email address will be emailed to all students via their school email accounts.

Finally, please stay safe, follow the guidance by the Government, and look after each other. We will continue to keep in touch.

Careers and Virtual Work Experience 

EBP South (our careers partner in particular for work experience) have updated their information and online careers resources:

Go to https://www.ebpsouth.co.uk/other-covid-19-careers-resources 

For information relevant to virtual work experience go to page 2 (this can be found by clicking on the resources part of page 1 at the bottom, then visit the section on Work Experience and alternatives. 

The BBC Teach App button also has some great video clips and although they refer to apprenticeships there are some really good occupational areas too. If preferred you can go onto the EBP You Tube Channel and click on the Playlist Tab, where there are a number of really good short videos to watch. Other employers locally are producing resources to be added at a later date.

Staff email addresses (work)

To help with Home learning, please see below a list of the staff email addresses. If you son/daughter is struggling with the work, please use the list below to contact the relevant person. Please be aware it may take some time to get a reply if staff are unavailable or ill themselves.

Name

Work email

Mrs M Aldworth

maldworth@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Barron

hbarron@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Bedford

abedford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs J Bonavia

jbonavia@stgcc.co.uk

Miss L Bourne

lbourne@stgcc.co.uk

Miss E Bowers

ebowers@stgcc.co.uk

Miss B Catley

bcatley@stgcc.co.uk

Miss K Cecil

kcecil@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs T Chappell

tchappell@stgcc.co.uk

Miss N Choudhury

nchoudhury@stgcc.co.uk

Mr K Clark

kclark@stgcc.co.uk

Ms R Clarke

rclarke@stgcc.co.uk

Mr O Copplestone

ocopplestone@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs C Corcoran

ccorcoran@stgcc.co.uk

Miss M Cordeiro

mcordeiro@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Corrigan

mcorrigan@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs R Cox

rcox@stgcc.co.uk

Mr R Crouch

rcrouch@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Devine

jdevine@stgcc.co.uk

Mr E Douglas

edouglas@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Drummond

sdrummond@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Dwyer

mdwyer@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Ellerby

mellerby@stgcc.co.uk

Miss B Evans

bevans@stgcc.co.uk

Miss A Foord

afoord@stgcc.co.uk

Mr H French

hfrench@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs L Furby

lfurby@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs M Gaskin

mgaskin@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs L Gilbank

lgilbank@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Gillard

mgillard@stgcc.co.uk

Ms L Griffiths

lgriffiths@stgcc.co.uk

Mr N Gulliver

ngulliver@stgcc.co.uk

Mr S Guyer

sguyer@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Habberley

head@stgcc.co.uk

Miss R Heneghan

rheneghan@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Hill

ahill@stgcc.co.uk

Miss S Hussain

shussain@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Jay

hjay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr M Kerslake

mkerslake@stgcc.co.uk

Miss A Lampard

alampard@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Leat

cleat@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Lee-Cann

alee-cann@stgcc.co.uk

Miss S Lefeuvre

slefeuvre@stgcc.co.uk

Mr T Liston

tliston@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Martin

awilson@stgcc.co.uk

Miss D May

dmay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J May

jmay@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Ndabala

andabala@stgcc.co.uk

Miss L Ouvry

louvry@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs A Pegg

apegg@stgcc.co.uk

Ms B Phythian

bphythian@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Preston

jpreston@stgcc.co.uk

Mr G Prout

gprout@stgcc.co.uk

Miss G Provenzano

gprovenzano@stgcc.co.uk

Mr R Rajendram

rrajendram@stgcc.co.uk

Miss H Raymont

hraymont@stgcc.co.uk

Mr J Reynolds

jreynolds@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Rogers

crogers@stgcc.co.uk

Ms C Self

cself@stgcc.co.uk

Mr C Shelley

cshelley@stgcc.co.uk

Miss C Simpson

csimpson@stgcc.co.uk

Ms H Sira

hsira@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs B Sopicka

bsopicka@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Southwell

ssouthwell@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Sumner

ssumner@stgcc.co.uk

Mr D Walford

dwalford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs M Walford

mwalford@stgcc.co.uk

Mrs S Ward

sward@stgcc.co.uk

Mr A Webb

awebb@stgcc.co.uk

Mr T Winter

twinter@stgcc.co.uk

 

 Southampton City Council Covid update